

## SPECIAL MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF RICE, TEXAS

## Tuesday, May 16, 2023 7:00 PM Rice City Hall 305 N. Dallas Street Rice, TX 75155

## Minutes

1. Roll Call – Mayor J. Nicole Jackson called the meeting to order at 7 PM.

Present: Sheila Teague, Christi Campbell, Diane Cheek, Donnie P. Fisher, Rosa Vasquez, Mayor J. Nichole Jackson.

- 2. Pledge of Allegiance by All
- 3. Prayer by Donnie P. Fisher
- 4. Public Forum None
- 5. Public Hearing None
- 6. Swearing in Elected Officials
  - 1) Mayor J. Nicole Jackson was given the Oath of Office for Mayor by the City Administrator.
  - 2) Donnie P. Fisher was given the Oath of Office for Mayor Pro Tem by Mayor J. Nicole Jackson.
  - 3) Rosa Vasquez was given the Oath of Office for Alderman by Mayor J. Nicole Jackson.
  - 4) Sheila Teague was given the Oath of Office for Alderman by Mayor J. Nicole Jackson.
- 7. Discuss and Deliberate the Resolution of the Canvassing of the Votes

Motion to approve the Canvassing of votes made by Christi Campbell, and  $2^{\rm nd}$  by Diane Cheek

Ayes; Christi Campbell, Diane Cheek, Rosa Vasquez, Donnie P. Fisher, Sheila Teague Nays: None Motion Passed. 8. Discuss and Deliberate the Approval of the McFadden Estates.

Mayor Pro Tem, Donnie P. Fisher, to lead the Discussion and Deliberation.

- Motion to approve the abandonment of the Alley in the middle of property going east / west made by Sheila Teague, and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Diane Cheek.
   Ayes: Sheila Teague, Diane Cheek, Rosa Vasquez, Donnie P. Fisher, Christi Campbell Nays: None Motion Passed
- Motion to not approve Current Plat and not Close Sherman Street made by Rosa Vasquez, and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Sheila Teague.
  Ayes: Sheila Teague, Rosa Vasquez, Donnie P. Fisher, Diane Cheek Nay: Christi Campbell
  Motion Passed

Mayor takes over chairing Council Meeting at 8:50 PM.

9. Adjourn

Motion to Adjourn made at 8:50 Pm by Christi Campbell and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Donnie P. Fisher Ayes: Christi Campbell, Donnie P. Fisher, Rosa Vasquez, Sheila Teague, Diane Cheek Nays: None

Attest:

Date

Sharon Watkins/ Secretary/ Finance Director